Psychology Introduction

Hello, this is Jessica Klinedinst and I am a freshman in Elizabethtown College. Even if I am a major in Professional Writing, I believed that going into the study of Psychology will help me broaden my understanding of the world, with the different quirks and habits that every person will have throughout their life, I hope that it will let me learn how to write in the more realistic side of personalities.

In all honesty, I understand more to psychology than the general mindset of just studying different mental conditions and addictions. It is all about the working of both the biological standpoint and the human standpoint, trying to understand and analyze the way people interact with the world around them.

In this class, everything about human understanding will open up to us, and I am more than interested on learning the later subjects of attachment theory, observational learning, and how to cope with stress. In my opinion, I would like to know more about how people interact on a daily scale based on the audience they have lived with, and how that would shape their personality and view of the world around them.

However, the least interesting subjects that don’t seem to pique my interest for now would be stereotype & discrimination, the medications used for psychiatric disorders, and the study of the subcortical brain. To the classification of the brain and the intertwining functions that come to the development of psychological disorders seem relatively complex if you were to look at it in a distance, including the many tropes that shaped our society in the form of racism and harmful tropes.

By the end of the day, it is only the start on how to create a more simplistic and understandable view of the world and how it has come to function as the way it has. Perhaps it can solve the one question I have on my mind. If more people are able to learn the functions of the brain and human ideology in psychology, can the world change to make everything equal as the way everything perceives it without discrimination, without any backlash on the individual opposition that creates hatred? Perhaps once everything is said and done, and until May comes along to finish another semester, perhaps I will learn the answer I desire.

One thought on “Psychology Introduction”

  1. Welcome to the course Jessica! I would love to say that teaching everyone about how the mind works would cure our social problems, but alas I think it will take a lot more effort. What we do get from understanding how the human operates is the opportunity to look at ourselves critically and make decisions about if/when we want to make changes. That being said, as we start to shift well-entrenched norms, it’s hard to know how far they will move. There is almost always a back-and-forth nature to change; rarely is progress linear. I do believe that helping people see “behind the curtain” so to speak about their behavior has the potential to change the world. I hope you will agree with me at the end of the semester!

    Like

Leave a comment